Meet Our Board

The board of directors is composed of 51% direct service programs and 49% community members. The board meets quarterly to discuss progress, current issues and plan for the organization’s future.

CAWS North Dakota Board of Directors

Members of the CAWS North Dakota Board of Directors may serve up to three consecutive two year terms.


Chris Johnson

Rape & Abuse Crisis Center

President Elect

Melandie Deplazes

SAFE Alternatives for Abused Families


Jill McDonald

Domestic Violence Crisis Center/Family Crisis Shelter


Michelle Erickson

Abused Adult Resource Center

Board Members

Donita Theiler
Community Member

Theresa Hugg
Community Violence Intervention Center

Sandy Bercier
First Nation’s Women’s Alliance
Community Member

Rochanda Gourneau
Hearts of Hope

Erica Thompson-Cavanaugh
Spirit Lake Victim Assistance

Primary Funders

• U.S. Department of Justice: Office on Violence Against Women
• U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Administration for Children and Families
• North Dakota Department of Health
• North Dakota Department of Corrections
• North Dakota Department of Human Services
• North Dakota Attorney General’s Office: Bureau of Criminal Investigation

SAFETY ALERT: If you are in danger, please use a safer computer, call 911, a local hotline, the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1-800-656-4673 or the U.S. National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-7233.Escape